No results

Nante, Alex

Alex Nante (1992, Buenos Aires, Argentina) is one of the most significant Latin American composers of his generation.

In his compositions, ranging from solo to orchestral music, there persists, on one hand, a nocturnal atmosphere, sometimes dreamlike; on the other, an attempt to access a spiritual realm, drawing on sacred traditions. In this sense, other arts play a fundamental role in his work, especially the relationship with the poetry of East and West mystics. The voice occupies a central place in his pieces, as can be seen in his many works with soprano, tenor, baritone and ensemble.

Alex studied with composers Santiago Santero, Luis Mucillo, Daniel D’Adamo, Stefano Gervasoni and Peter Eötvös, and holds diplomas from the National University of Arts of Argentina, Conservatoire de Paris (Prix de composition and Prix d’Analyse), Université Paris 8 and Conservatoire de Reims. He has participated in the Mentoring Program of the Peter Eötvös Foundation, and has been accepted for a PhD program in King’s College London under the supervision of Sir George Benjamin.

His currents projects include a string quartet for Quatuor Diotima, a sextet for Ensemble Musikfabrik conducted by Peter Eötvös, a ballet conceived by Olivier Fourés with dancers of the Opéra de Paris and, in the frame of the Peter Eötvös Mentoring program, a concerto for flute and orchestra for Camilla Hoitenga and the Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Su-Han Yang.

His works have been played, among others, by Claude Delangle, Marianne Piketty, Camilla Hoitenga, the ensembles Accroche Note, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Ensemble l’Itinéraire, Excelsis Percussion, Trio à Cordes de Paris, Ensemble of the Lucerne Festival Alumni, Ensemble SpazioMusica, Flame Ensemble, soloists of Ensemble Linea and the orchestras Filarmónica de Buenos Aires, Sinfónica Nacional Argentina, Orchestre National d’Île de France, Sinfonieorchester Basel and Daegu Contemporary Music Orchestra. As well as a symphony, a concerto for piano and orchestra and a work for orchestra and choir with the Orchestre national de Lille with which he is in residence.

Alex’s works have won several distinctions and eight first prizes, such as the “Médaille d’Or” of Association Musique en Roue Libre of Arras, France, for “Quatre pièces pour flûte et piano” (2015) and four first prizes in orchestral composition : Premio Nacional de música sinfónica y de cámara, Argentina (2018) and “Île de Créations”, France (2015) for “La Pérégrination vers l’Ouest”, “Guillermo Graetzer” – SADAIC (2015), for “Tres Sueños Lúcidos” and “Daegu Contemporary Music Orchestra” (2010) for “Fulgor”. His orchestral work “Helles Bild” won the second prize of the Basel Composition Competition 2019.

His interest in contemporary music has lead him to co-found in 2010 the orchestra OANM (Orquesta amigos de la nueva música) which premiered many pieces from argentinian composers. In 2014 Alex co-founded the contemporary music ensemble “Écoute”, based on the Cité Universitaire of Paris and since 2018 he is the conductor of Ensemble Awkas.

Alex Nante received the scholarship “Gisela Timmermann” from the Mozarteum Argentino and the Ibermúsicas grant for composers. He is a laureate of Fondation Banque Populaire and Académie Musical de Villecroze.

His music is published by Durand/Universal Music Classical.

Sinfonia del cuerpo de luz (2021)
for orchestra — — 3 perc — cel — hp —

Éditions Durand - On hire

Concerto pour flûte & orchestre - de luz y sueño (2019)
for flute & orchestra — — 3 perc — hpe – cél —
Have a look at the score

Watch the video 
Éditions Durand - On hire

Las noches de la piedras (2019)
for orchestra — — Vibr — pno —

Have a look at the score

Watch the video 
Éditions Durand - On hire

Estrella de la mañana - Cinq chansons d’après Jacobo Fijman (2019) 

for voice & orchestra — — perc —

Éditions Durand - On hire

Invocación (2019)
for orchestra — — timb – 4 perc — hpe —
Have a look at the score
Éditions Durand - On hire

Invocation (2017)
for piano
Have a look at the score
Éditions Durand - On sale

La Pérégrination vers l'Ouest (2016)
for orchestra  —  — timb - 3 perc - hpe  —
Have a look at the score
Éditions Durand - On hire