No results

Magrané Figuera, Joan

Joan Magrané Figuera (Reus, 1988) studied composition at ESMUC (Barcelona), at the Kunst Universität (Graz) and at the CNSMDP (Paris) with Stefano Gervasoni. In 2016 he is laureate at the Académie de France in Rome (Villa Médicis). Many different poetic and artistic sources — from Arnaut Daniel to Francesc Garriga, from Albrecht Dürer to Miquel Barceló — play a crucial role in his artistic process and his creative wolrd, he remains close to the music by Josquin des Prés, Roland de Lassus and Claudio Monteverdi. His works were performed by many ensembles and soloists (Ensemble Intercontemporain, Quatuor Diotima, Quartet Gerhard, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre Symphonique de Barcelone, Orchestre de RTVE, bcn216, CrossingLines, etc.) in different places and occasions such as Fondation RoyaumontGaudeamus Muziekweek, Huddersfield Contemporary Music FestivalFestival Manifeste, Paris Cité de la Musique (Philharmonie 2) or the Heidelberger Frühling. Quite interested by the voice, he took part to many projects, particularly with operas like Dido Reloaded and disPLACE, premiered in Vienna in 2016 and then in Madrid in 2017 at the Teatro Real. He has been awarded, among others, by the XXXI Premio Reina Sofía de Composición Musical (Fundació de Música Ferrer-Salat).

Photo :  © Carles Fargas

Sonatina (2019)
for violin and piano
Watch the video
Éditions Durand - On Sale

L'Argent com viu (2017)
for saxophone soprano and ensemble
Éditions Durand - On Hire
Have a look at the score

Faula (2017)
for seven instruments
Éditions Durand - On Hire
Have a look at the score

Marines i biscatges
(5è dia de la creació) 
for ensemble of 14 instruments
Éditions Durand - On Hire
Have a look at the score