Yan Maresz orchestrates Maurice Ravel

Yan Maresz orchestrates Maurice Ravel

Yan Maresz has taken a delightful gamble by orchestrating Violin Sonata by Maurice Ravel. It was a challenge because it is an intimate score written for chamber musicians. Maresz, lover of Ravel’s music, has selected a chamber orchestra in line with works such as Pavane pour une infante défunte or Tombeau de Couperin. The piano part is entrusted to the orchestra while the violin part is almost identical to the original piece. We couldn’t dream of a better person to play it than the violinist Renaud Capuçon, who gives it a clear and resonant sound (typically French), accompanied by the Orchestre national de Lyon and Leonard Slatkin.

Watch the video - Yan Maresz talking about his orchestration:

Maurice Ravel - Sonate pour violon (orchestration by Yan Maresz)
For violin and orchestra
6 january 2021 - Cancelled

Auditorium de Lyon
Orchestre philharmonique de Strasboug
Renaud Capuçon, violin
Marko Letonja, conductor

More information...


Have a look at the score